KHP – Changes

This is a project I am working on for a client but I made my own version because I liked it so much.

This is a project I am working on for a client but I made my own version because I liked it so much.

Today was the first day of Rose’s retirement and we celebrated in an unconventional fashion. I was trapped upstairs in our home office working away in front of my computer while she was running around on taking care of the munchkins all day. We were coming off a very fun and busy weekend in which we celebrated LP’s 6th birthday. The weekend was amazing and the party was fun for all (even the adults). My only regret was that Rose (my mother-in-law) was trumped by a 6 year old. Even worse she was trumped by my own freelance projects, a transition that was way too abrupt. After over 50 years of work one should have time to kick up their feet or at least celebrate a bit before jumping to the next set of to-dos. She seemed happy enough to take care of the girls while I worked feverishly on projects and then headed out to the art council to teach.

This week is one of my marathon weeks full of deadlines and projects. Things snowballed last week as I was running the girls to swim practice and racing home to get ready for the party. I wish I could have had more done so this week’s changes would not seem so abrupt on us both. In one respect I think we both feel our purpose and on the other hand we both feel a bit out of sorts. She is used to flying from one thing to the next up late each night. Now she was quietly moving about the house and to bed early. My life seemed more focused today but I was overwhelmed with the shear quantity of work. I missed my workout two days in a row. It was hard to listen to the girls while I was working unable to respond. Once I catch up I know that the transition will feel better for us both but today felt awkward and out of sorts. I am hoping for a better perspective for us both in a few days.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Art, Kristen P., Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to KHP – Changes

  1. wwwmama says:

    Sounds busy, and you will both need time to figure out how this will work best for everyone. I love that project you’re working on–so cool and different!

Leave a Reply

