Kristen R: Running Streak – Quantity or Quality?

On Sunday, I ran 6.5 miles along one of my favorite neighborhood routes. It’s a good run:  a little hilly, but nothing brutal, and it’s a perfect loop that never gets boring. I always use this route to gauge my fitness level. If I’ve been running a lot, then this out-and-back is a piece of cake. If I haven’t been consistent, I struggle.

I struggled Sunday. That 6.5 miles was my longest run in more than a month. I had to walk. Twice.

I’m not going to lie, this bruised my ego. Granted, the air was so thick and humid that it made running — and breathing — miserable. My friend and I joked that we were actually swimming, not running. But still, why should I be walking when I’ve been running for 204 days in a row?

I know that I spent the month of June nursing my back, and because of this, I was coming in at my daily minimum. Now that my back is feeling 100%, I have to build my endurance slowly so I don’t re-injure myself. None the less, it annoys me to have to walk on a route that I was running weekly, plus tacking on extra miles because I felt so strong.

I think what’s more frustrating is realizing that even in daily running, I allowed myself to fall into a low-mileage pattern. Now that I’m better, I find it easier to squeeze in a quick one- to two-mile run every day, rather than focus on a few quality long runs throughout the week (and let the other days be low-mileage rest days).

Since I recognize what’s happening, my goal for my next post is to outline a training plan that gets me back in better running habits — training habits that force me to work on building my endurance and do some speed work. Any tips or links to good training plans are welcome. I’m focusing on a half marathon in November — and I want to come in under two hours.

For any other daily runners out there (I know you run streakers are out there!), do you find yourself sometimes logging quantity over quality? How do you break that cycle once it’s started?

Gotta run,
Kristen R.

2013 mileage to date

My mileage to date. I got off track on my arms & squat workout, so I’m going to be starting where I left off a week ago. It’s not over yet and will likely go past July – at least, for me.

KHP Art Below

KHP - The client did not like the background in this one but I love it.  I absolutely love this process and I can't wait to do my own art in this style.  I am also ready to go back to oil painting, I despise acrylic.  I just need to figure out where and how to work without little fingers getting into the paint and cover the house in oil colors.  I did some sketching too but this one is a nicer to look at:)

KHP – The client did not like the background in this one but I love it. I absolutely love this process and I can’t wait to do my own art in this style. I am also ready to go back to oil painting, I despise acrylic. I just need to figure out where and how to work without little fingers getting into the paint and cover the house in oil colors. I did some sketching too but this one is a nicer to look at:)

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Kristen R: Running Streak – Quantity or Quality?

  1. lehorse says:

    Firstly there are some great training plans on the running bug website http://therunningbug.co.uk/training/plans-and-tips/b/weblog/archive/2011/01/11/half-marathon-training-plans.aspx

    Under normal circumstances I would say quality of quantity I have to hit quantity at the mo but feel that quality beats quantity everytime. a selection of shorter drill based runs (fartlek, Hill sets etc) and then 1-2 good solid long runs a week is a perfect blend for me.

  2. khpixler says:

    I am in the same boat right now. Just to give you a little hope, I went running at 9:30 last night. The temperature was in the low 70’s and the humidity was low. I ran one of my fastest 5k’s ever. I have been running in the heat of the afternoon and having to walk during a 5k. My ego is very bruised and I am so frustrate. Last night gave me a little hope that as long as we keep training during the heat of the summer we will feel like super stars in the cool fall weather of November.

  3. wwwmama says:

    I’ve been lower mileage than usual too, but I’m more inclined to reach for a book these days than my shows, I’ll admit. Focus on the positive and how consistent you’ve been and make a plan.

  4. Pingback: Kristen R: The End of a Running Streak | Making It Daily

Leave a Reply

