Kristen R: Weekly Photo Challenge – Masterpiece

My masterpiece is this running route — which I’ve included in a running log before. While it’s not a traditional work of art or what we typically think of as a masterpiece, it serves as the same kind of escape. I can get lost and feel transformed by a good, long run, especially this one. But it has to be just right: Early morning, when the leaves are changing, the air is crisp, and a bit of mist surrounds me.

That’s how I interpreted this week’s photo challenge: Finding the extraordinary within our every day.

View from my Saturday morning run through the woods.

View from my Saturday morning run through the woods.

My running log is below. I’ll hit the path early tomorrow morning — and I hope to luck out with the same mild weather we’ve had here in Virginia for the last two days. The humidity has been low and the days have been just lovely.

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

Mileage to date: I should finally see my monthly totals start to creep back up, especially since I'll start training soon.

Mileage to date: I should finally see my monthly totals start to creep back up, especially since I’ll start training soon.

KHP Art Below

KHP - A little more progress, this is not turning out how it is in my head.

KHP – A little more progress, this is not turning out how it is in my head.

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Photography, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Kristen R: Weekly Photo Challenge – Masterpiece

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Masterpiece | Flickr Comments

  2. Pingback: Photo Project: 52 Bolivian Sundays [week 30, 'Masterpiece']. | 3rdculturechildren

  3. Ishaiya says:

    I love this image! There is something I personally find very evocative about a long winding path, especially through trees. Makes me want to go and explore. Thank you for sharing.
    Have a great weekend!
    Ishaiya

  4. Juliann says:

    This picture is stunning. I can’t say it makes me want to run, but I sure would like to take a nice long walk down it.

  5. That path is calling to me! ๐Ÿ™‚

    janet

  6. wwwmama says:

    Lovely image. I am seeing a lot of flat corn-lined highway this weekend, so that image reminds me of home.

  7. khpixler says:

    I love this image. We have had such nice weather this week in PA too. I hope it stays!!!

  8. Pingback: B4 Retouch / Weekly Photo Challenge: Masterpiece (Musรฉe d’Orsay) | What's (in) the picture?

  9. Pingback: Ireland: a masterpiece | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Masterpiece | Joe's Musings

Leave a Reply

