Claire: Ohio Dreaming

I’m in Ohio with Newman for the weekend, and again I am limited to what I can blog on my phone, so I’ve decided on another round of haiku to try to capture some of the experiences here. I’m trying to stick to the 5-7-5 formula and keep them clean and spare, but finding good imagery is trickier than I thought it would be.

1.
Dayton, Ohio:
Birthplace of aviation
And Newman’s hometown
2.
His old neighborhood
Or the “plat,” as it is called;
Roger Clemens’ house
3.
Visiting his mom,
Orange Bengals souvenir
Bright on her gravestone
4.
Marian’s for food
The best pizza in the world?
The one from childhood
5.
Brothers together
Pitchers of beer and tattoos
The same dancing hands
6.
Lazy, sleeping  in
My new book so delicious
I hope it never ends
7.
In Vandalia,
Crossroads of America,
Driving in the rain
8.
A Lebanese lunch
Meeting my uncle and aunt
Handshakes and hummus
9.
Ice-cream in Findlay
Chocolate buckeyes for my mom
The sun has come out
10.
Two Ohio men
Getting to know each other;
Missing my father
11.
Back at the homestead
Chopping carrots from the earth
Patting the dogs’ heads
12.
Planning for their week
Four wheelers, bikes, and fishing
Brothers finding home

KHP Art Below

KHP - I spent a few minutes taking a picture of this arrangement during my class this morning and then editing it with a student later.  From creepy to happy little flowers:)

KHP – I spent a few minutes taking a picture of this arrangement during my class this morning and then editing it with a student later. From creepy to happy little flowers:)

This entry was posted in Claire, Family, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Claire: Ohio Dreaming

  1. khpixler says:

    Nice work on the iPhone:)) Hope you are having a nice visit in O HI O.

Leave a Reply

