Kristen R: Many Miles Ahead in August

“Remember to be gentle with yourself and others. We are all children of chance and none can say why some fields will blossom while others lay brown beneath the August sun. Care for those around you. Look past your differences. Their dreams are no less than yours, their choices no more easily made. And give, give in any way you can, of whatever you posses. To give is to love. To withhold is to wither. Care less for your harvest than for how it is shared and your life will have meaning and your heart will have peace.” – Kent Nerburn

Good things are coming this month. It’s the last month of the summer. It’s the last month of the summer routine. It’s a time for changes, but only the ones that are worth making.

I’m happy to report that my mileage is ticking back up and it will continue since I have fall races ahead. I think without the race goal, I just don’t stay as motivated. The difference is that committing to run every day has kept me running rather just stopping completely between race goals.

As for July, I didn’t stick with my squats and arms challenge, but I was feeling good from that, so I’m going to do some version of it and other non-running things (read: cross training) this month — all month. I’m going to be better about what I’m brown-bagging to work. And, as for my running, I think it’s high time I broke 100 miles. I expected to do that already.

So let’s get busy.

Running log below.

Gotta run,
Kristen R.

2013 mileage to date

KHP Art Below

KHP - Yesterday was a busy from start to finish.  I snuck in 15 minutes to work on the monster but I missed my workout.  I will make up for it today on both ends.  My little monster still looks crazy but PP thinks it looks cute:)

KHP – Yesterday was a busy from start to finish. I snuck in 15 minutes to work on the monster but I missed my workout. I will make up for it today on both ends. My little monster still looks crazy but PP thinks it looks cute:)

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kristen R: Many Miles Ahead in August

  1. wwwmama says:

    “To withhold is to wither.” Wow, I love that. I was not always consistent with the squats, but I had a moment the other day where I stretched out while I was watching TV, and I felt this muscle in my butt/upper thigh that I literally have never felt before. I was so impressed with myself 🙂 Tee hee hee. But my knees were not loving so many reps. I think I will start to incorporate 50-60 squats or squat-holds into my off days.

  2. khpixler says:

    That is a perfect quote to roll into August. I know you can do the 100 miles this month!!!

Leave a Reply

