KHP – Art Camp Round 2

Tomorrow morning I will go into the council for my second round of art camp this summer.  It will be a slightly smaller group but it still should be a great time for all.  I have been working this week on ideas for the camp and trying to get together examples and inspiration amongst a sea of of freelance jobs.  My theme for this week’s camp is Monsters and Creatures.  This week we will focus on how texture affects their art and different techniques to create texture in your artwork .  We are going to do a mixed media painting, a collagraph print and a paper mache mask!

This is the base of the paper mache mask I created yesterday.  Today I will add paint, fur, feathers and other embellishments to create my monster mask.

This is the base of the paper mache mask I created yesterday. Today I will add paint, fur, feathers and other embellishments to create my monster mask.

I still have so much to do to get ready for my group of artists and I have a couple smaller freelance jobs to wrap up for Monday morning.  It will be a busy Sunday full of playing with the kids while trying to complete projects for the coming week.  Matt and I are going to sneak in a trail run and then take the kids to the pool for an evening dip.

I left much of my work for today but it was a necessary evil.  With my mother-in-law retiring I have had so much more time to work during the day and catch up on work.  I still am digging myself out of a hole but there is light ahead. I have been working non-stop to try to pull out of this cycle of staying up late in the evening to meet deadlines.  I am getting close to a regular working hour week.

This is a finished collagraph print.  You start with a cardboard base and build up the relief with scraps of cardboard and textured paper.  When the plate is complete you print the plate on paper.  This is actually a plate that I created last year.  I am using this as a finished example as I build a new creature with the group.

This is a finished collagraph print. You start with a cardboard base and build up the relief with scraps of cardboard and textured paper. When the plate is complete you print the plate on paper. This is actually a plate that I created last year. I am using this as a finished example as I build a new creature with the group.

Yesterday was not terribly productive but Matt and I needed an afternoon with the girls.  We went out to lunch after I got back from my Saturday morning photo class at the council.  Then we headed out for a bike ride with the girls.  Matt, who is an amazing coach and instructor, had PP riding her trike in a matter of minutes. I have often wondered if he missed his calling as an educator.  We watched a movie, took a family nap (except for LP she never rests:) and just hung out!

Today, I will enjoy another day with the girls and include them in my art production.  They have fun with the projects and I use them as guinea pigs for the projects.  I can learn so much about the process and unseen difficulties by testing my lesson plans on them.  This allows me to prepare and tweak the projects so they are perfectly suited for the age group.  I am fairly well prepared for the week but I have a few more things to pull together.  I hope with the help of my own creature and monster I can make the final adjustments today!

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Art, Illustration, Kristen P., Printmaking, Teaching, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to KHP – Art Camp Round 2

Leave a Reply

