KHP – Drawing Practice

KHP - My river monster is coming along.

KHP – My river monster is coming along.

I love this drawing but I cannot show the entire piece as a whole.  It really is not mine to show as I was just sketching from a photograph that is copyrighted.  I just needed to put some graphite on paper.

I love this drawing but I cannot show the entire piece as a whole. It really is not mine to show as I was just sketching from a photograph that is copyrighted. I just needed to put some graphite on paper.

This is another small section of the drawing.

This is another small section of the drawing.

I have been working through the week trying to stay ahead of my students in art camp.  The theme this week is Creatures and Monsters.  I have been preparing all sorts of projects, gathering materials, preparing them and trying to decide the proper progression through the week.

I started this week by trying to create some cute digital illustrations of monsters and creatures.  I found myself annoyed and frustrated with the slow progress and I opened my drawing pad.  I started scouring the internet looking for examples, ideas and if I saw something I liked I just started sketching.  I thought I would take these sketches and pull them together into  a new creation.  I still plan to pull more ideas together and reference materials for a fun analog illustration.

I am a little disappointed as the drawing I like so much I really cannot share.  As I was rifling through the internet and sketching.  I found an amazing composite photograph of a man with a pigs head.  I sketched this image because the photograph was amazing and I wanted to put in my drawing practice for the day.  I love how the drawing turned out but it really is not my art but the brain child of another.  I have posted snippets of the drawing but the full illustration will have to live forever in my private sketch book.  I have also included my fish monster sketch that I started this evening.  I hope to turn him into a new monster.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Art, Illustration, Kristen P.. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to KHP – Drawing Practice

  1. wwwmama says:

    Great sketches! Is there any “open source” element to what you found? I just did a workshop on that–stuff that’s available for you to borrow and revise

Leave a Reply

