KHP – Hitting the Wall

Yesterday, I came home from my final art camp class in a fog. It was a busy week teaching art camp, Digital Darkroom, Digital Photography at the art council along with my regular college courses in Harrisburg. I submitted final grades and completed numerous freelance projects. I was feeling oddly tired in my body and mind. I sat in front of my computer trying to complete the final touches of my digital paintings for a client. My progress was slow as the files are huge and even my stacked IMAC has to have time to think. The final output will be 6′ by 9′. The computer lag was not the only problem, I was just thinking slowly. I finally gave up around dinner time. Matt, the girls, Rose (my mother-in-law) and I had a nice evening together. When it came time to do art and workout I just hit a wall. I have had very busy summer and with the elation of final grades being submitted and the second art camp complete, my bed was calling me. I started the beginnings of a new drawing/prototype for the mural project in Chambersburg. The downtown council is providing artist boards to create artwork and they will be permanently displayed together downtown. The boards are due September 1st. This is my next big deadline coming up besides my Fall syllabi:)! The drawing progress was slow. A few of my students had summer colds so I decided I better just go to bed. I am happy to say I woke up with a spring in my step. Sometimes the right decision is to go to bed at 9:30, in this case it was a sound decision.

I got to hang out with these amazing little ladies this week. To be quite honest this felt like a break to me.  These girls were sweet, well behaved, they loved the projects and they made art from the moment they came in to the the moment they left.  If every teaching experience was like this everyone in the world would be teachers.

I got to hang out with these amazing little ladies this week. To be quite honest this felt like a break to me. These girls were sweet, well behaved, they loved the projects and they made art from the moment they came in to the the moment they left. If every teaching experience was like this everyone in the world would be teachers.

I have one more Monday evening class to teach for the Digital Darkroom Class.  It is not an easy class to teach but I have met some really interesting people.

I have one more Monday evening class to teach for the Digital Darkroom Class. It is not an easy class to teach but I have met some really interesting people.

I am making the final touches on two digital paintings this weekend.  I have been working on this project for a month and I am so happy to have it wrapped up.

I am making the final touches on two digital paintings this weekend. I have been working on this project for a month and I am so happy to have it wrapped up.

Summer Semester Grades are complete! Now to make my Fall syllabi by Tuesday.  Wahoo.

Summer Semester Grades are complete! Now to make my Fall syllabi by Tuesday. Wahoo.

This was started last night.  I would not normally show anything at this rough of a point but this was I have for today:)The beginnings.

This was started last night. I would not normally show anything at this rough of a point but this was I have for today:)The beginnings.

This is really the only part of the drawing I like.  The drawing is actually 18" by 24", I have a lot of fiber to cover.

This is really the only part of the drawing I like. The drawing is actually 18″ by 24″, I have a lot of fiber to cover.

This is the board that I was given to create on for the Downtown Mural Project.  Sweet!

This is the board that I was given to create on for the Downtown Mural Project. Sweet!

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Art, Family, Kristen P., Photography, Projects, Self-Care, Teaching and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to KHP – Hitting the Wall

  1. wwwmama says:

    Wow! The mural project sounds so fun. The pic with the girls is so cute! You are amazing–always doing so much. 9:30 is my usual bedtime!

    • Kristen R. says:

      I agree, you are so busy! And I also go to bed at 9:30. 🙂 Mural project sounds very cool!

      • Kristen says:

        I know too much is going on. Matt and I trying to figure out where I can scale back but I have feeling this will not happen until after soccer is over. I am really excited about the Mural Project but I want to get a good start quickly so I don’t feel rushed with the deadline. I am hoping that will happen this week.

    • Kristen says:

      I used to go to be between 9:30 and 10:30 every night but I have not been able to do that for along time. It is against my natural grain to stay up late. I can’t wait to get back to it. I am glad one of us is doing it.

  2. Jim Brennan says:

    I’m a mural lover. You may have seen my runs that include pictures I take with my iPhone while running the streets of downtown Philly. I also like that you include your art in your blog. Very nice to share yourself. Thanks!

    • Kristen says:

      Jim, Thank you so much for taking the time to check out our blog! I truly am honored:) You seem to have done so much in the art/writing world and the running world!

Leave a Reply

