Kristen R: Training – Week 1

I decided to start my November half marathon training this week. It might be too early, but with a 200-mile relay race in September, I figure I may as well start getting ready for it all. Plus, I just do a lot better with a plan. Without a plan, my running is very unfocused, if you can’t tell.

My training plan is pretty solid. It builds up my long runs slowly, although I’m already logging about 8 miles for my Saturday long runs so I’ve got a good base. I think that will give me time to build up my endurance plus work on my speed.

We shall see…

Each week, I’ve laid out my planned mileage, but I also have a column for actual mileage. If I’ve learned anything this year, it’s that the best laid plans do not always win out over what my life dishes out.

This week, I stuck to the plan. Here’s what it looked like (I dropped my long run back):

Screen Shot 2013-08-10 at 6.21.45 PM

Next week, I’m shooting for a 26-mile total that includes hills, tempo and an 8-miler. I’ll let you know how it goes.

What’s your tried and true training plan?

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

Running log below.

Mileage to date - ramping things back up!

Mileage to date – ramping things back up!

KHP Art Below

KHP- I just was playing with doing a painting straight into Photoshop.  I usually start on paper, go to Illustrator and finish up in Photoshop.  Photoshop is a looser environment which is enjoyable to feel unconstrained every once and a while:)

KHP- I just was playing with doing a painting straight into Photoshop. I usually start on paper, go to Illustrator and finish up in Photoshop. Photoshop is a looser environment which is enjoyable to feel unconstrained every once and a while:)

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kristen R: Training – Week 1

  1. khpixler says:

    This is a great plan! I am starting now too as I want to have a solid routine when soccer starts. I know I will have more open pockets once school starts back. I also will have access to the gym and trainers at Mercersburg which I am excited about. I am so excited for November:)))

  2. cathyn61 says:

    I also work better with a plan. I’m following a walking marathon plan at the moment which is new territory for me. Plus I go to the gym twice a week for a weights session.

  3. wwwmama says:

    Speed training…you Kristens are killing me! It will take everything I have to finish this race. Can’t you just take it easy this time around so I won’t feel totally pathetic? Just kidding. I continue to be impressed by you. Rock on, sister!

Leave a Reply

