KHP – Half Marathon Training Wahoo!!

This weekend Kristen R and I found out that Claire has decided to run her first half marathon with us in November. I am so stinking excited about all of us getting together I could explode. This is exactly the type of positive motivation I need for my running. I have been going through the paces this summer but I am frustrated with my performance and in many ways I have given up. When I got sick this spring and summer, it took me 10 steps back and I lost my drive to hurdle this particular challenge. My mileage dropped, I started taking more days off, my cross training was sporadic and my effort during my runs was in a sad state. In all fairness much of this has been do to school being out and loosing those little pockets of time along with my busy and unpredictable summer schedule. I was hoping to go into the heat of the summer with a solid foundation but instead I came in sick with colds exacerbated by allergies. I have never excelled in the summer months as I am a cold weather runner. I would choose 30 degrees over 85 degrees any day (once I get down the road a quarter mile). I have run and worked out throughout the summer but not to the degree or to the intensity I would have liked.

The past few weeks I have started to pickup my workouts. The weather has been beautiful, my schedule has been very busy but I am ticking projects off and getting my workload under control. Now I have a great goal to seal my motivation, the Richmond Half Marathon with two fabulous friends. With soccer and the fall semester starting I will need to stay organized and scheduled with my training. I am looking at my time slots and I should be able to sneak in an hour each day to run or workout. I will have new resources through Mercersburg Academy. I will have access to their amazing gym, coaches and trainers. I will be in an environment of healthy, active and supportive co-workers. I may even find a runner partner to join my training.

I looked over a few half marathon training programs. I wanted to find a training program that included a lot of cross training and time for recovery and yoga. I have started having problems with my right hip, knee and hamstring again. I realize that when I am not working my core and other cross training regularly I have more problems with this area. I want to go into this run feeling strong from head to toe rather than feeling like I am enduring a torture. I picked this training program as it seemed to fit my needs. Jenny Hadley Half Marathon Training Programs are available for all different levels. I liked the intermediate level but I will need to modify the program slightly. There is a big jump between the beginning and intermediate level programs. I will need to decrease the mileage on the intermediate to start and switch my long runs to Sunday. I have an away soccer game every Saturday through the fall.

With my summer about to wrap up, I am thrilled to have new projects to work on in my artwork and new motivation for my running. I hope to end this year strong and happy with my wonderful blogmates. Hurray for November!

I found this training program by Jenny Hadfield.  I will use this intermediate program as a guide but I will need to modify the mileage a bit.

I found this training program by Jenny Hadfield. I will use this intermediate program as a guide but I will need to modify the mileage a bit.

Last night I was literally playing and mashing pixels around.  It turned out atrocious but the process was fun:)

Last night I was literally playing and mashing pixels around. It turned out atrocious but the process was fun:)

I just needed to do something mindless for the past couple of days so I have been working on this illustration in Photoshop.  It has been fun.

I just needed to do something mindless for the past couple of days so I have been working on this illustration in Photoshop. It has been fun.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Art, Kristen P., Projects, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to KHP – Half Marathon Training Wahoo!!

  1. Kristen R. says:

    I’ll have to post my full training plan out there tomorrow like you guys did. I was so excited to start my training and then this morning I woke up with strep again! Just back from the doc, but I don’t feel nearly as bad as last time. Caught it early. Whew!

  2. khpixler says:

    Oh no, I am glad you caught it early enough. Did the girls have strep too?? I am interested in the training program you pick or create. I like the one I have but it needs tweaking for me:)

  3. wwwmama says:

    I’m getting pumped with all this planning! Hope strep and summer lows disappear for you guys soon.

Leave a Reply

