Kristen R: Return of the Strep

Oh, yes, my friends, the strep is back. I don’t know why it’s plaguing me, but I woke up yesterday morning and I just knew I had it — again. The achey neck, the swollen throat, the tender lymph nodes, and the lovely spots on my tonsils were dead giveaways.

My girls were diagnosed with it over the weekend, actually. I figured since I’ve never gotten it from them before, why would I get it now? The strep I had a month-and-a-half ago was just a fluke, right? Wrong! I guess I have opened the strep throat flood gates.

But, on the bright side (yep, I’m annoyingly optimistic), since I just had it, I knew the signs and caught it early rather than letting it fester like last time. Between that and not having it coupled with horrible low back pain, I’m actually doing OK, physically. I’m achey and my throat hurts. Mentally? Well, like any good runner I’m obsessing over the fact that this will throw me off my training schedule. Just for this week, though — right?

Since my blog partners have shared their half marathon training schedules, I’ve shared mine below. The three of us are running in the Richmond Half Marathon in November. I couldn’t be happier for us to be gathering this way. I plan to be strep-free!

C200 is my 200-mile relay race. In total, I'll run about 17 or so miles between 6 a.m. Friday and 3 p.m. Saturday.

C200 is my 200-mile relay race. In total, I’ll run about 17 or so miles between 6 a.m. Friday and 3 p.m. Saturday.

And, here’s my mileage to date. Here’s to a speedy recovery!

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

Screen Shot 2013-08-13 at 1.16.49 PM

KHP Art Below

KHP - I worked on this last night and was wrapped up in work all day.  I forgot to post my progress this morning.  I a working on the drawing again tonight.  It is amazing what a little development does:)

KHP – I worked on this last night and was wrapped up in work all day. I forgot to post my progress this morning. I a working on the drawing again tonight. It is amazing what a little development does:)

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running, Self-Care and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kristen R: Return of the Strep

  1. wwwmama says:

    Hope you feel better soon!

  2. khpixler says:

    What is up with the strep twice over the summer!!! This is crazy. I am glad you caught it early enough and was able to take care of it.

Leave a Reply

