Kristen R: Training – Week 2

Despite having another bout of strep throat, I stuck to my training plan fairly well this week. Tuesday, the day I was diagnosed, was supposed to be a 5-mile tempo run. Needless to say, that did not happen. It became 2 miles of slow jogging with a few walk breaks thrown in for good measure. Wednesday, I felt better — and by the afternoon I was officially stir crazy and feeling like myself again.

The only thing missing from this week’s training was the fact that I didn’t push myself too much. I didn’t want to push it while my body was fighting off this illness.  That was definitely the right call because I feel like I bounced back quickly.

If today’s 8-miler goes according to plan, I’ll come in only three miles under what I had planned to run this week. Not too shabby for a sick week.

Here’s what week 2 of my half marathon training looked like. I’m cutting myself slack this week, for obvious reasons, but next week I really need to get serious about my cross training. It’s been pretty lackluster so far.

Screen Shot 2013-08-16 at 9.24.12 PM

And, here’s my actual daily mileage to date.

Screen Shot 2013-08-16 at 9.19.32 PM

Happy trails to everybody running today!

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

KHP Art Below

KHP - I am getting a little too laid back about posting my work.  I need to get in a better routine on posting my progress as soon as I am done. Argg, this is from last night.

KHP – I am getting a little too laid back about posting my work. I need to get in a better routine on posting my progress as soon as I am done. Argg, this is from last night.

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running, Self-Care and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kristen R: Training – Week 2

  1. cathyn61 says:

    Take care and hope you’re feeling better soon.

  2. khpixler says:

    strep, strep stay away never come another day! Nice work on a sick week!!!

  3. wwwmama says:

    Impressive! What differentiates tempo from pace?

    • Kristen R. says:

      Tempo starts a little slower than pace, then you increase your speed throughout the duration of your run. The idea is that you teach your body to pick up the pace, even when fatigued. For me, it helps the run go by faster, especially on a treadmill!

Leave a Reply

