Kristen R: Running Tip Tuesday

I’m sitting down to write this after a very busy Monday. Rather than mulling over my last few runs — which would totally bore you — I’m just going to share a bit of wisdom I found regarding training and long runs.

I read this multiple times on various websites while putting together my half marathon training plan for November. It’s about how, while training, you should run your long run slowly, not worrying about the time (pulled from Runner’s World online):

“I heard that 80 to 90 percent of runners run their easy runs too fast, so I slowed my easy runs to whatever felt comfortable that day,” says Jeff Donahue of Melrose, Massachusetts. Coach Demetrio Cabanillas, who ran with Bill Rodgers and Alberto Salazar, offered this advice to Kim Cowart of West Jordan, Utah. “He would remind me before I’d tackle my weekend long run that I’d already done my speedwork during the week and to do long runs slower. The purpose of the long run was to condition the legs to run long, and if I pushed the pace, I was essentially racing, which was counterproductive.” Ealowes agrees: “The best advice I received for marathon training was to run my weekly long runs slow—much slower than I thought I should.”

I’ve always watched the distance and the clock on my Saturday long runs, but I’m not going to do that this time around. My focus will be solely on distance. I’m attempting to conquer speed and hill work during the week, so as suggested above, I’m taking those long runs slow to condition my legs to run long.

And that’s my tip for Tuesday. Is this your approach to distance training?

Running log below. Yep, I’m gonna hit 600 miles by the time my next post rolls around. Ready to celebrate?

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

Screen Shot 2013-08-19 at 9.29.23 PM

KHP Art Below

KHP - I actually took this today but my sketch last night was a disaster:))  No need to share.

KHP – I actually took this today but my sketch last night was a disaster:)) No need to share.

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kristen R: Running Tip Tuesday

  1. wwwmama says:

    I’m happy to take that advice, not that I’ve done any real long runs yet. I’ve been stressing out about how I’m going to get runs in with my little one around as I can’t leave her with anyone and don’t have a treadmill at home. I’m having to keep breathing and reminding myself not to worry about the end goal so much and to just appreciate runs when I can get them in. Glad you’re getting back to the present with it too. I think we’re all on the same page.

  2. khpixler says:

    Yep, I think we are all on the same page. Perhaps it is just the process of the journey we are all on. I too need to take my long runs much much slower. I think that every time I go out to run I push and push especially because I am running on my own. No wonder I have bad runs a lot!

Leave a Reply

