KHP – What We Leave Behind

What (as the human race) are we leaving behind? What clues are we leaving for the generations in the future? Will it paint an accurate picture of who we are? Would we agree if we were a fly on the wall watching an archeologist investigate and theorize his/her findings? Could we apply these same questions to the history we have devised from the artifacts left by our ancestors? What was lost over the centuries and was it critical to our picture we currently depict?

These are the questions that have always fascinated me. It is a theme that continually repeats itself in my work, one that I have not resolved visually or completely. I started off my art career investigating the role of women and their place in society. How we are often placed in a box by societal pressures and traditions. After a short time, this topic became stale to me. It was not that the topic was no longer a concern but rather I felt I must focus on my true interest to break out of the box. I had to find out what truly intrigued me.

I have been searching this year trying to go through the paces of making art daily. I have been trying my hardest to make something of visual quality each day but the conceptual end is really where art is formed. It is an area where I feel lacking through this whole process. I can make excuses, it is usually late when I am working, I am tired, brain fried and running out of time. I am making art and that is what matters. Perhaps not an all encompassing form of art with all of the critical components but I am making things to view.

I went searching for a thread that connected my work. The thread I found was a thread that has traveled through my work since my first college experience. I am interested in the human footprint, our mark we leave on this earth. What our remnants will tell future generations about our time here on Earth. This is the thread I wish to continue developing more clearly with a conscious mind as I continue throughout this last semester of our journey. I will continue writing about this subject to help develop ideas for the artwork.

More from my sunflower pictures.  I just love that this wonderful little patch came from the lost seeds from the bird feeder.

More from my sunflower pictures. I just love that this wonderful little patch came from the lost seeds from the bird feeder.

I am really starting to enjoy the variety of textures I am able to capture in the drawing.

I am really starting to enjoy the variety of textures I am able to capture in the drawing.

This is my Petroglyph series that I created for my thesis work in grad school.

This is my Petroglyph series that I created for my thesis work in grad school.

A print from my Fossil series which I created while I was pregnant with LP.

A print from my Fossil series which I created while I was pregnant with LP.

I am really starting to enjoy the variety of textures I am able to capture in the drawing.

I am really starting to enjoy the variety of textures I am able to capture in the drawing.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Art, Illustration, Kristen P., Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to KHP – What We Leave Behind

  1. oolung says:

    Like all the artwork!

  2. wwwmama says:

    I love the idea of what we leave behind as a thread. It covers your interest in ruins or crumbling architecture, hidden beauties or treasures discovered, new angles of viewing familiar objects, and conscious acts of new creation that take into account what has come before or what/how materials can be used. I wish I had clarity on how to pull together my own various strands of writing in the same way. I generally don’t want to look back; I feel like I’d be embarrassed by most of what I’ve produced this year. At some point, we all have to do the work of conceptually looking for themes and threads though, and you are leading the way.

Leave a Reply

