KHP – Keeping it Simple

Keeping it simple.

Keeping it simple.

Tonight the girls and I headed out the door for a couple days with my family to celebrate my dads  77th birthday over a on long holiday weekend.  We were all excited to see family and get a little time with our loved ones and celebrate.  The week was full of new beginnings and was a small taste of what our lives will be like in the coming months.  It was great to end the week with a trip to grandma’s and grandpa’s house where we will see some Aunts and Uncles, cousins and couple doggie cousins (the icing on the cake for the girls and Miss Maggie the family dog).

I had plans of a quick photo documentary today as I was starting the morning very early out the door to commute an hour Northeast to campus where I would spend the morning until early afternoon to hop in my car and head an hour home.  Afterwards I would change quickly and jump back into the car to drive Southwest for thirty minutes for a meeting for the coaches at Mercersburg.  Then it was back home to feed the kids, throw clothes in a bag and head back out for another hour drive to my family’s home in West Virginia.  My camera was riding shotgun all day but in my rush from one activity to the next I did not pull it out.  There was literally no time.

As I reflect on this past week I realize that I am so very lucky to have the time to ease into all of my changes.  This week I only had one class I was teaching in Harrisburg, my second course is a late fall and will not start until the 9th of September.  I had a chance to help LP to start off her year in kindergarten and help my mother-in-law with figuring out the routine.  I was able to take PP to meet her teachers and be present as she hammered her way through frustrations of being left behind while her sister and best friends went off to elementary school.  PP often forgets she is at least 2 years younger than most of her closest friends.  PP will start preschool school and I will start the soccer season next week.  The final layer will be added when I my late fall class begins the week of the 9th.

Today gave me a little taste of what each day will bring when all the layers are added.  It will be more driving and traveling than I am used to but it will be worth every mile.  My environmentally conscious brain is freaking out.  I have to keep reminding myself that it MAY pay off in the long run.  I MAYBE strolling across campus to work for the rest of my working years.  We will see about all that but for now I am an environmental bastard for two months. I hope the world can live with that.

In the coming months I will be home less and working away from home more while my girls are at school.  Today gave me a little taste of what I will need to do to stay successful on my own pursuits and to help balance the needs of my family.  What I realized is I am going to have to keep it simple and keep things light.  So here’s to a wonderful weekend, to a slow build and keeping it simple in the months to come.  Here’s to my Dad! (more on that later:)

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to KHP – Keeping it Simple

  1. wwwmama says:

    Yay Dad! I am with you on keeping it simple. A good plan to get us through the craziness ahead.

  2. Kristen R. says:

    Aw, congrats to your dad!! Glad you could celebrate with him. And, yes, simplicity is a good thing, especially as fall schedules begin to take over our lives…

Leave a Reply

