KHP – Shopping for New Shoes

Okay, so I have been wearing the same running shoes for a ridiculous amount of time.  I know the experts tell you to change out your shoes every 400 miles or so but I have never adhered to this advice.  I have never had any major issues with my body from running, so I just kept plodding away down the road in my torn up dirty kicks.  I figured I have more important things to spend my money on.  I used to run for ninety minutes on hard plastic and leather cleats without cushion or corrections.  Why do I need running shoes that often?

Honestly, I stick with this theory.  Good form, strong feet and a stronger core can fix most running issues more effectively than the shoes on your feet.  My shoes need to fit well causing no blisters, a fairly wide toe box, they need to have a little cushion and no correction.  This has been my formula for the perfect shoe but I have yet to find that perfect shoe in the past few years.  I have been running in the Minimus and the Newton; both shoes have attributes  I  like and things I don’t like.

Each shoe fits my foot extremely well.  I know what to look for and feel for when trying on shoes so I rarely get a pair that causes blisters or chaffing in areas.  They both have no correction but very different support and tread.

KHP - Light painting of my Newtons.  These are actually crazy good shoes if you like the lugs in the front.  They are extremely well made and unbelievably comfortable.  I am done with the lugs.

KHP – Light painting of my Newtons. These are actually crazy good shoes if you like the lugs in the front. They are extremely well made and unbelievably comfortable. I am done with the lugs.

The Newton is known for their lugs in the front, which help you move from a heel strike running form to a forefoot running form.  This lowers the impact on your joints and your back.  The lugs drive me nuts, I don’t want to get rid of the heel in the back to replace it with one in the front.  It feels clumsy on the trails and I simply don’t want or need that correction.  I have finally perfected the shoe by literally running the lug off the shoe.  Unfortunately, I have run through the lug and I am now eating into the sole of the shoe.  This is difficult to do to Newtons,  as they are made incredibly well.  Don’t ask how many miles are on my Newton’s just know it has been years since I purchased a new pair of kicks.

The Minimus I love, they have no correction, no silly lug and they fit extremely well but they have no padding by design.  They are as close to barefoot running as you can get in a shoe.  They are Vibram technology and are rubber soles with no cushion or rock plate.  I run on the road with these shoes but any little misstep on a rock can be painful.  It has been over two years or more running in these shoes with strong and callused feet yet I still have issues with gravel on the road or  a rocky trail.

I decided it was time to give in and call on our expert friends at Optimal Run.  Patton Gleason is the president of the company and an old friend from our days working at the climbing gym. He has already hooked KR with new shoes and helped her find a perfect match.  Patton did a fabulous job picking out some shoes for me to try.  Here is Optimal Run’s personal recommendation for me.  My husband loved this so much he has decided to have Patton pick out some shoes for him. He is a gear-head and will be an excellent customer for Optimal Run! I am having a really hard time deciding between the three pairs of shoes but I want to decide soon so I can start my fall off right with a new pair of kicks.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Kristen P., Photography, Running, Self-Care, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to KHP – Shopping for New Shoes

  1. Kristen R. says:

    Yeah, Patton! He does a great job. And it’s good to get a solid recommendation from someone you know. Looking forward to seeing what you pick!

  2. wwwmama says:

    What happened to my comment? Argghhh. I think my fancy phone is not so fancy as I posted something yesterday. Oh well. Glad you got a good rec. Have you tried the 3 on yet? Have you decided on one?

Leave a Reply

