KHP – The Crag – Photo Blog

A trail to a new family adventure.

A trail to a new family adventure.

We have been living in Pennsylvania for going on 5 years and today we found the missing link. Matt and I both were avid climbers. I climbed for about 10 years and Matt climbed for 20. My husband was a professional sponsored climbing bum for the majority of his young life. He traveled nationally and internationally with the sport climbing from Smith Rock, Oregon to Siurana, Spain. I was an avid weekend warrior, strong in my own right (no one was going to pay me to climb) and I loved (love) the sport with every fiber of my being. It is something I have missed desperately with parenthood and life changes that have taken me/us away from this recreation.

Matt and I both realize that climbing hard is not likely as we get older but we both would like to find the time to incorporate the sport in our lives. We have great hopes that the girls will pick up this passion. We can coach, belay and climb alongside them as they grow up. It is a sport that is so empowering, it builds a great sense of community, self-confidence and focus, especially for young women. I was thrilled to see the girls interested in being out at the cliffs, jumping (carefully) around on the rocks and enjoying the adventure. It warmed my heart to see my little dog romping around and hopping with ease amongst the obstacles.

I will never force my interest on my children, it is something that I oppose. I see the draw to pass on the family tradition but I believe in the individual and fostering their interest. I unselfishly crave for them to choose interest that we can share with them to build the bond that will travel through their teen years and throughout their lives. It felt so organic to have all of us out scouting a new crag and gave me hope or perhaps a glimpse of the future.

Matt standing at a base of a bouldering problem is a very familiar site for me but one that I have not seen in years.   This made me happy.

Matt standing at a base of a bouldering problem is a very familiar site for me but one that I have not seen in years. This made me happy.

Maggie had an amazing time and was the perfect little crag dog jumping from rock to rock.

Maggie had an amazing time and was the perfect little crag dog jumping from rock to rock.

It is not the New River Gorge but it is 47 routes plus bouldering 15 minutes from our house.

It is not the New River Gorge but it is 47 routes plus bouldering 15 minutes from our house.

I was completely surprised with how much the girls enjoyed hopping on the rocks and running around while we checked out the climbing area.

I was completely surprised with how much the girls enjoyed hopping on the rocks and running around while we checked out the climbing area.

Looking through the trees at more potential routes.

Looking through the trees at more potential routes.

The rock is pretty good but it is pretty sharp in some areas.

The rock is pretty good but it is pretty sharp in some areas.

Remember a time when I would look at a rock face and immediately see the route and the moves required.  It felt so natural but distance at the same time.

Remember a time when I would look at a rock face and immediately see the route and the moves required. It felt so natural but distance at the same time.

Love this pooling pond at the base of the creek.

Love this pooling pond at the base of the creek.

The creek wrapping itself around the trees and rock.

The creek wrapping itself around the trees and rock.

LP looking like a tree fairy in the late afternoon sunlight.

LP looking like a tree fairy in the late afternoon sunlight.

A little tree nymph for scale.

A little tree nymph for scale.

Late afternoon sunlight illuminating the rock face.

Late afternoon sunlight illuminating the rock face.

I love the movement of the roots running up the trail.

I love the movement of the roots running up the trail.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Family, Kristen P., Photography, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to KHP – The Crag – Photo Blog

  1. What a wonderful adventure to share with your girls! And your images are lovely!

  2. Kristen R. says:

    How cool to have found this! Reminds me of all those days we spent looking for rock in Virginia — never with any luck, though. The images are beautiful. And, I must say, that photo of Matt at the base of that boulder is a very familiar site, just as you said. Makes me miss y’all — when can we visit? 🙂

  3. wwwmama says:

    Your photos are so gorgeous!!!! So glad to hear that this might be coming back into your lives!

Leave a Reply

