KHP – Photo Therapy

This week we continue to face challenges but we are making it through. On Friday LP woke up with a terrible cold. My mother-in-law has been taking the girls over to play with their cousins after school while she nurses my sister-in-law during her last days here with us. With LP sick and unable to go to school, unable to go over to visit her cousins and bring germs into the house, we had to come up with another plan. Matt had already taken sometime off this week and was very behind at work. My classes only meet once a week and I was unable to miss this particular class. We came up with plan c and shipped the girls over to my parents for the day. They had a great day and LP had premium care as my mother had crafts and games but took the time to make homemade chicken soup, give her hot compresses on her sinus and steam baths for her cough.

It has been a trying week but we are so fortunate to have family near to lean on when we need it. I am so glad that we have a team in place to help my sister-in-law and her family through this time of tragedy. I am so glad to have my parents near when things get complicated. There is such a great sense of security knowing that the girls always have someone who loves them with all their hearts to step in when times are rough.

I stole a few moments this week to take pictures. Just before I picked up the girls from my parents house, I ran down to the river near their home. As I stood on the river bank near sunset to snap a few quick pictures, I realized how much these moments mean to me. It truly is a therapy for me to be outside and steal moments of its beauty in my little black box. Like my private moments to talk with my husband to reset my brain, or taking a quick trip to the orchard with PP, or my nighttime hug and kiss routine with LP, or my private moments standing at the edge of a tree line looking over the sun filtering and bouncing through the grass, it is my happy place, my moments of peace.

13_9_19_micki_99_65

Micki is the big donkey at the Round Barn orchard, a famous big barn right outside of our town. They sell the most amazing apples but the girls love to visit all the animals especially our gentle and always hungry, MIcki.

One of the smaller donkeys standing under the shade of the live tree.

One of the smaller donkeys standing under the shade of the live tree.

The goats love to run and play on these old trees.

The goats love to run and play on these old trees.

More pictures from our visit to the Round Barn near our house.  Great apples and lots of amazing animals to visit.

More pictures from our visit to the Round Barn near our house. Great apples and lots of amazing animals to visit.

The light was still nice over the river.

The light was still nice over the river.

13_9_20_potomac_99_2

It was getting close to sunset but not quite.  I wish I could have stayed but I had to get the girls and head back home.

It was getting close to sunset but not quite. I wish I could have stayed but I had to get the girls and head back home.

Looking out across the river.

Looking out across the river.

A train bridge over the Potomac River in Shepherdstown, WV.

A train bridge over the Potomac River in Shepherdstown, WV.

The structure of the bridge is pretty amazing.

The structure of the bridge is pretty amazing.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Art, Family, Kristen P., Motherhood, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to KHP – Photo Therapy

  1. wwwmama says:

    I’m glad you’ve found some moments of peace and beauty, and I hope they keep finding you.

Leave a Reply

