KHP – Martin’s Mill Bridge

In all of this sadness I have found some solace in my artwork.  It seems like some pieces of my puzzle are starting to come together for me.  I feel excited about my work rather than feeling like it is forced or a chore.  I love this feeling.  I love realizing how much it means to me.  It is like those 15 private minutes a day that I have with Matt.  Just to chat and reset, to bounce ideas and get a pat on the back.  I realized this summer when we were at the beach with friends how much I depend on those minutes to keep me balanced.  I really don’t know what I would do without him.  It is nice to know yourself and know what you need.  I need my 15 minutes with my husband each day to reset and I need to turn inward and have some quiet moments to explore my creative outlets.

After soccer I traveled down Route 16 which is a country road that leads directly into Greencastle where I hit a major intersection in the middle of the town.  This intersection connects to the highway and feeds people to their suburban homes in town.  This intersection is always congested.  It has been under construction for over a year.  When coming home I hit a dead stop a mile out from the light so I could turn left and continue traveling home.  I sat for 5 minutes and realized I was going no where fast.  I noticed a few cars turning right down a street and a sign for a Martin’s Mill Bridge.  I decided to take my chance that these cars would box me around the traffic and if not I would find this famous bridge.

I had heard of Martin’s Mill Bridge from a race in town that goes through this  covered bridge.  It was a beautiful evening, my kids were still out with grandma and Matt was just getting home from workout.  I decided to go check it out.  I traveled down the road and perhaps, I took the van down a road that was marked as closed.  I plan to claim ignorance.  The sun was dappled through the trees falling like honey drops on the ragged asphalt.  I wound down the road looking at the rock cliff to my right and wondering when I would finally see the bridge.  Time seemed to move unbearably slow as I continued to the bottom of the road.  I pulled off to the right into a gravel shoulder.  To my left was an enormous red wooden bridge.  I was nervous as I was not sure if I was allowed to be here or if I was parked illegally but I grabbed my camera and my tripod and headed over to the mouth of the bridge.

I forced myself to take a few quiet moments to steal away and attempt to capture the beauty of the evening.  I am thrilled with the simple images of the river cutting through the land just before sunset.

The river just before sunset.

The river just before sunset.

I used my tripod to blur the motion of the river.  The water looks so glassy, like melted caramel.

I used my tripod to blur the motion of the river. The water looks so glassy, like melted caramel.

The colors in this image really make me happy.  I

The colors in this image really make me happy.

I love the sun cutting through the trees like a star.

I love the sun cutting through the trees like a star.

KHP - Another shot of the Martin's MIll Bridge outside of Greencastle, PA.

KHP – Another shot of the Martin’s MIll Bridge outside of Greencastle, PA.

KHP - This is my least favorite shot that I took today.  Rather than showing my boring progress on the mixed media piece I will share some photos that I shot ofter practice today.  I have a couple that make me  very happy.

KHP – This is my least favorite shot that I took today. Rather than showing my boring progress on the mixed media piece I will share some photos that I shot ofter practice today. I have a couple that make me very happy.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Kristen P., Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to KHP – Martin’s Mill Bridge

  1. wwwmama says:

    Beautiful pictures. I love how you describe 15 minutes with Matt.

  2. Kristen R. says:

    These shots are just beautiful. I love the river and bridge images. I think you’re feeling better because the seasons are changing, too. It’s your favorite month!

Leave a Reply

