KHP – #$@%^#!!!!

A photo is worth a thousand words so I share with you with this lovely image of my RIGHT foot.

KHP - A little modified light painting to help show the lovely swelling and bruising from my newest injury.  Hurray!  I am so frustrated!!!

KHP – A little modified light painting to help show the lovely swelling and bruising from my newest injury. Hurray! I am so frustrated!!!

Why did Capitalize RIGHT you ask??? Well it seems I have a real issue.  This year and really for the past few years, I have been plagued with injuries but oddly, (or not) they all occur on my RIGHT side.  This past year I have torn my RIGHT quadriceps.  I have continued to have problems with my RIGHT hamstring that I pulled when I was 5 weeks pregnant with PP.  I have been having serious hip pain on my RIGHT side that is radiating up into my RIGHT side of my low back.  In the past two weeks I have hyper flexed my RIGHT Knee and now I have torn something on my inner ankle on my RIGHT leg.  The last two injuries I did not remember anything happening at the time but as soon as I cooled down the pain and swelling popped up. This has been killing my training and I obviously will have a difficult time logging miles this week.

In early spring I had a gait analysis done that showed I cross over way to far on my RIGHT side that is causing some issues for me.  I also am moving my hips and core way too much.  I have done a fair amount of cross training and core work but nothing seems to help.  I looked back at the time I thought I fixed my pain and it was during a time when I was very sick and unable to run.  At that time I was focusing on yoga, core work and weight lifting.  Currently I am logging a fair amount of miles and playing lots of soccer and my pain is increasing and my injuries are becoming more frequent on my RIGHT SIDE.  I have been able to complete most of my mid-mileage runs but I have not completed any runs beyond 7-8 miles in the past month. This was due to my abnormal schedule with my family’s recent loss and my injury issues.

I am getting extremely frustrated.  It has not been the best year for me with my health/training.  I had a horrible cold and flu season that turned into allergies throughout the summer.  Now I am feeling great and these constant issues on my RIGHT side are slowing me down.   My hip is hurting all the time. It pains me while I am sitting in the car, working at the computer or standing in front of the classroom.  It actually feels the best when I run but then it kills me afterwards.

I have made an appointment with my doctor for October 15th to come and talk about my issues.  She is a runner too and will understand my frustration and need to figure this out.  I made this appointment Friday morning and Friday evening at practice a torn the ligament (I think) in my right foot.  I have had the sense that things are out of alignment for a long time but now I know it for sure.  I did a quick Google search and found that frequent injuries on the same side are often due to mis-alignment in the hips.  This would explain my current issues and my gait analysis findings.

I am trying not to freak out about the half marathon, as I cannot control the timing of all of this.  I will try not to freak out about how this will affect my coaching abilities.  The truth is I just need to talk to the doctor, listen to my body and figure out what is going to workout best in the long run.  I am not sure my plan for this week’s workouts.  I will probably focus on isometric workouts like yoga, lifting and maybe some walking.  When my foot is better I will put a few more miles until I hear other wise from the doctor.

This is a very big deal to me.  I want to run well at this race more than any other race I have every completed. I usually am happy to complete a half marathon and revel in my body’s ability to plug away but this race was supposed to bring back my legs, my strong legs, and my pre-pregnancy fitness.  I want to run with my blog partners feeling happy and proud of all we have accomplished together this year.  Instead, I feel like I am getting old, frail and very, very breakable.  Again, I am waiting to hear what the doctor has to say.  I may run my Urgent Care tomorrow just to have them look at my foot to make sure I do not have a minor stress fracture.  All I can say at this point is, I will roll with the punches as they fall, I will dodge the ones I can and lean into the ones I cannot.  I will try with all my heart and sole to let go of my false sense of control. Carpe Diem with a few #! O%$!!!!

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Kristen P., Photography, Running, Self-Care and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to KHP – #$@%^#!!!!

  1. wwwmama says:

    Oops, not sure what I did with that last comment. I go back and forth with my feelings on this race. Injuries suck, and I have had more aches and pains recently than in the history of my running…30 years of it. Take care of yourself and push when you can. The race will be what it is for all if us. Having a good race yesterday made me feel less pressured somehow. I just want to be able to enjoy that say with you and not freak out, you know? Your training sounds like it is the same as mine, so you’re doing great it my book! Not to mention all the other stuff you do that I don’t! I hope the doctor gives you good news and advice.

  2. Kristen R. says:

    This looks terrible. I’m so sorry. I hope you get good info from your doctor. When I hurt my hip a couple of years ago, it was b/c my hips were way out of alignment still from having E. I did some PT and strengthening. I hope this is as simple as that. Take care of your body — and remember that the most important thing is to be able to run around w/ your kids at the end of the day… Take care!

  3. khpixler says:

    It is getting prettier today;) I am thinking it is just an alignment issue from having PP. I am not sure why it has gotten so bad this year. I have been ignoring the minor aches and pains since I have had PP but this year it is really bad. It did not bother me much last year when I was training. I have a friend that is a chiropractor and she thinks it sounds like an alignment issue too that I could get some work done to get back in place. It just stinks that it is flaring up with all these injuries now. KR – Was some of your PT a chiropractic adjustment? I have not had that done and it kinda freaks me out.

Leave a Reply

