Kristen R: Half Marathon Training – Week 9 & My Slow Long Runs

Week 9 was a good training week. I logged all my runs — expect for one that I cut short because my 7-year-old just needed extra help settling down for bed that night. Let’s be honest, if my runs started taking precedence over the kids, that might be a problem.

I added the extra mile the next day, so it all evened out.

I followed the plan and got in all my pace, tempo and hill workouts. My 10-mile long run on Saturday was good. Quite slow, mind you, but good. I know my training calls for taking these long runs slow, but I don’t know that I could have gone much faster, to be honest.

It’s these types runs that make me think maybe I’m just not made to be a faster, slow-paced runner. I know a nine-minute mile isn’t fast, but I would be over the moon to run my half-marathon at this pace. My 10-miler was nowhere near this pace on Saturday. Yes, I did speed work all week, but I am having serious doubts about my two-hour goal.

But, you know what? I will finish the race and be proud of that, and that’s what I — maybe  my blogmates, as well? — need to remember: We’re out there doing it.

And that is a very good thing.

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

Here's how my week looked. My legs weren't too tired, either. Progress...

Here’s how my week looked. My legs weren’t too tired, either. Progress…

Mileage to date.

Mileage to date.

KHP Art Below

KHP - Running out of glue in the middle of the night but I made some progress placing my squares.  I can't wait to get to the next phase but it won't be tonight.  I am working on some drawings.

KHP – Running out of glue in the middle of the night but I made some progress placing my squares. I can’t wait to get to the next phase but it won’t be tonight. I am working on some drawings.

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kristen R: Half Marathon Training – Week 9 & My Slow Long Runs

  1. cathyn61 says:

    Thanks for the reminder: we are out there doing it. Even though some of us are only walking.

  2. wwwmama says:

    Today I am feeling like I overdid it. My left Achilles’ tendon really hurts. I walked much of my 3.5 “run” today. One of the things I like about this process is that I’m getting to know myself better as a runner, and it sounds like that’s true for your year of running too. I have never been so clear that I prefer the shorter distances! But it’s good to get out of your comfort zone sometimes. I keep thinking about the post-race celebration. The morning is really just a warmup for that 🙂

  3. wwwmama says:

    woo hoo!

Leave a Reply

