Claire: The Long Weekend

On Friday night, Newman and I took my mother to a concert with an Irish singer. It was great; his voice was amazing, but even better than that was that he sang all the familiar old songs–even the ones I didn’t even know I knew. It brought us back to our days in Ireland, and it was lovely having Newman share that experience with us.

On Saturday morning, Newman and I went to a nearby town-wide flea market and strolled around together, checking out the wares. I found him a great shirt that he wasn’t quite sure about, but I convinced him it was manly enough and perfect for a date night. He trusted me, buying it and wearing it for the rest of the day, and I’m thrilled he did because later he called me from the grocery store to tell me that a man had just come up to him to tell him that it was “the coolest shirt ever.” (“And he wasn’t gay,” Newman told me, adding that the guy’s girlfriend had agreed the shirt was great. I add this because Newman has a history of being hit on my gay men–strangers and friends alike who appreciate his boyish charm, friendliness and sensitivity. They have good taste in men, I think.)

The other little treasure I bought at the flea market were some vintage spools. I got 4 for $10, too cheap to walk away from even though I was breaking my new rule that I have to have a vision and a place for the desired item already clear in my mind. I had no idea what I would do with them (candle-holders?), but it turned out ok; I used them as decorations for our kitchen window.

photo(1)

My vintage spools go nicely with our wood, glass, and metal industrial decor.

After running my ten miles in the early afternoon, I treated myself to a couple of hours of shopping alone before re-uniting with Newman. He invited some of his old friends over to watch the Red Sox game, and I was glad he did as I’ve been encouraging him to re-connect with these friends in ways that include me so I can get to know them better. When we found out that a few of them would be over and some hadn’t seen the house yet, we went into action. He went to the store for supplies, and I ran around cleaning. I was pleasantly surprised to find it didn’t take me that long to clear the decks and do a quick vacuum of the living room. We are finally in a groove in the house, and my summer organization has paid off, giving me  clear places to put everything.

The night was fun, even factoring in the fact that I had one too many Dark and Stormies and my post-10 miler exhaustion hit me right as a new friend showed up at our door. I eventually gave into the drooping eyelids and owned up to my state, and the night ended well with everyone seeming glad to have gotten together.

Free joined us today after being at her dad’s yesterday; she is a little sick and feeling low, probably due to a flu shot she received last week. Flu shots have the same effect on me, which is why I don’t get them anymore. We spent some time on the couch together, she watching Disney shows and chomping on corn chips while I folded laundry and swapped out my summer clothes for fall and winter. It’s a big job, and it’s one that always leaves me feeling that I have more clothes than I could ever need. I always want to purge immediately, but then I hold off, thinking that this year might be the one when I figure out what to wear with what. It’s crazy.

I am DETERMINED to get this clothes issue figured out. I like to shop, and that’s not going away, but I really would like to buy new things only when I love them and know they’re perfect for me and I will wear them easily and often with no wrangling or worrying. I am still figuring out how to edit myself according to these standards while in the dressing room at the store, but I think I’m doing a little better. The twin side of the job is clearing out what doesn’t work, no matter how much I paid for it originally or how much I love it on its own–without the partner pieces it needs to get out of the closet and out the actual door. If I can clear away what doesn’t work, along with what did work for years and is too old and worn out to keep wearing, I will be in great shape.

My strategy for cleaning out my fall clothes will be to line up a couple of pieces of clothing each week and figure out how to wear them that week or toss them out. I have to be ruthless. I am determined! I have a decent sized closet, and pining for a walk-in version is just stupid. I just need to pare down the clothes and get on with it.

While I moved stuff around inside the house, Newman mostly spent his outside, busy and buzzing in his movements like a bee making its rounds. He blew the leaves from the yard, took a motorcycle ride, and lifted weights with his son. Free and I did get outside long enough to make a very cool scarecrow for our yard.

Tomorrow we all get a day off to continue our respite from school. It is much needed, and I am so thankful that we will have a short week followed by a (hopefully romantic) weekend away with Newman. In the meantime, I will try to enjoy each moment as it comes and all it brings. It’s a good life I have, and I want to appreciate all of it.

KHP Art Below

KHP - Main section of tiles placed.  I will grout next and then add the rest of the mixed media fun.

KHP – Main section of tiles placed. I will grout next and then add the rest of the mixed media fun.

This entry was posted in Claire and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Claire: The Long Weekend

  1. khpixler says:

    I am so glad you all had such a nice weekend. I hope Free is feeling better and you enjoyed another lovely day off. It is surprising how magical a three day weekend can be.

  2. Kristen says:

    None of us had the holiday off, so all I can say is that my commute downtown was light and easy. That’s code for I’m jealous of your 3-day. 🙂 Glad it was good!

Leave a Reply

