Kristen R: Running schizophrenia? Just move on

I was all set to write about the low mileage week I’m having. My plan was to confess that I haven’t stuck to my training schedule because of mental and physical fatigue; I was going to ponder why I’ve hit a mental wall twice this week when I should be working on speed; and I wanted to ask you why I can go from a solid week of training highs to a solid week of mental lows so very quickly.

But then I read this:

“Bad workouts and races — we all have them and we always will. Accept that the body has an ebb and flow that we don’t quite understand. Some days you just feel ‘off.’ As hard as it is to accept a bad workout or race when there are valid reasons, it’s doubly challenging when there appears to be no reason at all. I used to worry about this, but now I just shrug it off as the quirkiness of the body and mind. Don’t invest in it or over think it. Move on.” – Greg McMillan

And that’s all I have to say about that.

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

I'll hit another 100+ mile month after my 12-miler on Sunday. Gotta switch up my long run because my 7-year-old has a kids run Saturday morning. I cannot WAIT to watch her fly!

I’ll hit another 100+ mile month after my 12-miler on Sunday. Gotta switch up my long run because my 7-year-old has a kids run Saturday morning. I cannot WAIT to watch her fly! Go BEAN!

KHP Art Below

KHP - Birthday Sketch of the mad king in the tree.

KHP – Birthday Sketch of the mad king in the tree.

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running, Self-Care and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kristen R: Running schizophrenia? Just move on

  1. wwwmama says:

    Go Bean! I am hitting a major wall this week. Every workout requires extreme effort. I hope we get our mojo back soon, but I like your attitude.

  2. khpixler says:

    Go Bean Go! I wish I could see her run. That girl can run and so can her mamma. I love this post. I think we make it worse when we over analyze and stress out about it.

  3. Pingback: Kristen R: December Reflections No. 3 – The Voice Within | Making It Daily

Leave a Reply

