KHP – Good News and Bad News

KHP - Working on the vatican, slowly but surely.

KHP – Working on the vatican, slowly but surely.b

Just a quick update tonight. The good news, I am spending today getting my final prints made and framed for a group show coming up this week. It will be great to get my work out in our local community. The bad news, my physical therapist has asked me to stop running for a little bit. I went in to see her on Thursday, my heel was hurting and my achilles was really tight and my arch was killing me. I was trying to walk as normally as possible but my slight limp was easily picked up my an educated eye. The PT did a few test and said it was good I was trying to run because now we know the triggers (I already knew them, I was trying to ignore it). Walking seems to be okay and biking is fine but running even on shorter runs on soft trails are causing new problems. The PT seems to think I am still running on my foot differently due to the sprain. She is less worried about my hip and hamstring as I have been dealing with them for a long time but my foot is a problem. She does not like that I am creating new problems rather than just dealing with the pain in the injury area. So what does this mean for the half marathon? I just don’t know. I will put the same training time in on the bike but I have never trained on the bike to run. I will be at the event no matter what but I might not be racing. I am not ready to make that decision. I am not ready to really think about missing this run but I don’t have a whole lot of time left. I know my blog-mates will have a great race with or without me. I know it is more important that we get together but I will be sad to miss the bound of the run. I have run this distance, it is not about missing a race but missing this specific one. If I do miss it I will just chock it as a bad stretch and it just was not in the cards this time around. So for now I will focus on the positive things that are happening. I am having a great time coaching, I am excited about my two upcoming group shows and the holiday season around the corner. I can’t wait to see my blog-mates and get to see their smiling faces, hug them and chat over a glass of wine. I can’t wait to meet Newman and see T and the girls. The race will be amazing even if I am standing on the sidelines cheering while they cross the line.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Illustration, Kristen P., Running, Self-Care, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to KHP – Good News and Bad News

  1. wwwmama says:

    You have to take care of yourself first and foremost. We will all be there together. I’m so glad to have that opportunity to see you guys. It would be awful to injure yourself permanently for it though. Hope there is more good news in your future.

  2. Kristen R. says:

    Ug, sorry if this is a repeat comment. My comments aren’t posting for some reason..

    I’m so sorry to hear this! I know how frustrated I would be if it were me. We will have a great weekend, regardless of whether you can run. Just take care and listen to your body. Sometimes you feel better once you’ve made the decision, even if the decision is to not run. I think just knowing helps. We have many races ahead!

Leave a Reply

