KHP – Ready for the Show

Here are the prints for the Washington County Art Show! They look so shiny and pretty framed up.

Here are the prints for the Washington County Art Show! They look so shiny and pretty framed up.

The prints for my show at Destination Arts Gallery in Waynesboro, PA.

The prints for my show at Destination Arts Gallery in Waynesboro, PA.

I spent the day framing my little heart out trying to get ready to drop my prints off at the gallery for two shows with Penn’s Wood Printmakers. I am so thrilled to have an opportunity to show my work and the possibility to sell one or two. I have two group shows in November with just a couple pieces in each show. The first show will be held at the Waynesboro Council for the Arts’ gallery, Destination Art. This little gallery is making a name for itself amongst the local artist as it has a reputation for selling artwork. What better time to buy some fabulous prints for the Christmas shopping season? I rarely sell work, so I am not holding my breathe but I would love to make a little money on these prints! I am putting “The Owl” and “The Tornado” prints in this show.

The second show is at the Washington County Arts Council, in Hagerstown, Maryland. This gallery has some prestige and another good possibility for selling some work. I am putting “The Pianist”, “Winter” and “The Juniper Tree” in this show. There will be a little gallery opening this Friday. I will run from soccer practice and quickly change my clothes into something artsy to meet and greet for the last 30 minutes or so of the opening.

I have never been a fan of openings but at least at group shows you have a lot of familiar faces and friends at the event. There are 12 of us in the group, so it should be full of fun folks to share the evening. These shows are great for my self confidence even though I have had to force myself to seek out opportunities like this. It is not something I innately crave but I know it is extremely important for my resume. It is also important for me, as it helps me see myself as a real working artist. It helps me take my work more seriously, it helps me step beyond the process that I love so much and focus on the product.

This upcoming year, I have a lot of goals. I want to complete a plate a month. I want to submit work into at least 6 competitions or juried shows ( photography, printmaking, digital arts, it does not matter). I want to contact local galleries and see if I can find one that will give me a solo show. Many of these goals I had in the burner for this year but it was not in the cards. Looking back at 2013, it has been a rough one. It has been a very successful year in many ways but all did not go as planned. That is okay. I am happy with what I have accomplished. I know that all great plans can lay in waste but can spring forward again anew. This week I will not worry about all of that but I will focus on the products, the fruit of my labors, all shiny and dust free in their archival encasements.

I saw these pictures of the fashion designer Edith Head and I decided to do a quick sketch or two.

I saw these pictures of the fashion designer Edith Head and I decided to do a quick sketch or two.

Edith Head is such an interesting character.  I think the Edith in the Incredibles was designed after her.  So fun, she makes a great cartoon character.

Edith Head is such an interesting character. I think the Edith in the Incredibles was designed after her. So fun, she makes a great cartoon character.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to KHP – Ready for the Show

  1. wwwmama says:

    The prints look so great! Congratulations on getting them framed. Good luck at the shows!

  2. Kristen R. says:

    This is great! Can’t wait to hear about the shows. And I have a photo I want to buy! The one from the winter — that snow covered pine branch. I’ll have to find the post you had it in.

  3. khpixler says:

    I think I am beating you to the gimp thing:)) but I am in for at least another 25 years. We can have walker races:))

Leave a Reply

