KHP – Ready Let’s Go

An inversion of one of the layouts.  I really like what happened to the colors.  This is really what I had anticipated when I started playing.

An inversion of one of the layouts. I really like what happened to the colors. This is really what I had anticipated when I started playing.

This is on of the final versions I will share with my class.  There is nothing too fancy about the process or the layout but a solid investigation of color.

This is on of the final versions I will share with my class. There is nothing too fancy about the process or the layout but a solid investigation of color.

I could continue building this illustration but it really is just a layout/problem solving stage for the wood cut.  So I think I just want to be done with this stage and I will start working on the woodcut this week. I will use my sketches and illustration for references.

I could continue building this illustration but it really is just a layout/problem solving stage for the wood cut. So I think I just want to be done with this stage. I will start working on the woodcut this week. I will use my sketches and this illustration for references.

I am having a very hard time adjusting to the time change. I am really not adjusting at all. In fact I am going the opposite direction with my sleep patterns. Instead of attempting to stay awake and work for hours into the evening and getting up with the girls in my regular fashion, I am falling asleep when I am putting the girls to bed at 8:00 pm. Last night I was able to rally for a bit to do a little more work but I did not make it down my regular check list before laying down for the night. On a positive note I am wide awake at 4:00 o’clock in the morning working happily at my desk. I think this schedule is more natural for me. In the evening I am worthless, I force my eyes to stay open and nod off often. I am sure I am not doing my best work nor am I absorbing content very well. I have been torturing myself this way since LP was a baby.

Yesterday, In my 4:00 o’clock solace, while the girls snoozed in the room and Maggie, my little dog snored into the comforter, I worked out a few more areas on the St. Peter’s Basilica illustration. I realized it was time to start the plate. This illustration was never meant to be a finished digital illustration. It was meant to help me figure out perspective, to look closely at the details on the church. I began to realize that most of the detail would have to be left out in the woodcut, there is simply too much. I began picking carefully the items I wanted to include. I will start with this as a base and build in as much detail as I can. This is my first woodcut or carving in sometime. I am a bit nervous to start, this is not my regular organic style carving that I will need to make this piece successful. I am going against my natural grain. A little step out of your comfort zone should be enriching and perhaps I will surprise myself on this one. I certainly hope so. I have been preparing for this piece for a long time, some might say I have been dragging my feet. Well, what ever reason it maybe, I am here and ready to jump in. Ready, let’s go!!

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Art, Illustration, Kristen P., Printmaking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to KHP – Ready Let’s Go

  1. Kristen R. says:

    I’m having the same issue with the time change. And I think your carving will be great — especially since you’re stepping out of your comfort zone.

  2. wwwmama says:

    You’re so good at giving pep talks! Go get ’em

Leave a Reply

