Kristen R: Training Week 14 – Tapering

I finished out the week — this morning, actually — with an 8-mile easy run. This was my last long run until the half marathon, which is just one week away.

The week was good, but I had a lot going on with work and family. I missed two planned runs, instead of my scheduled six miler on Monday and Thursday’s easy four miles. I settled for quickie one-milers on those days. The six miler I did mid-week, though, was a good one. I ran it right on pace, felt great and even had enough for a little kick at the finish.

Next week will be all about short, fairly easy runs until race. Oh, and there’s the fact that my blog partners will be coming to town on Friday and I’ll also hit the race expo Friday afternoon to pick up everyone’s bibs and race packets. Good stuff!

One week to go!

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

I should definitely hit 1,000 miles by the end of the year. Not too shabby!

I should definitely hit 1,000 miles by the end of the year. Not too shabby!

This shows off this week's training week and looks forward to next week's plan. Smooth sailing...

This shows off this week’s training week and looks forward to next week’s plan. Smooth sailing…

KHP Art Below

KHP - Yeah, this is not going well at all.  I despise this wood and I think the aspect ratio is wrong.  I am going to restart on linoleum which is 12 by 18 a better aspect ratio than the wood.  Straight up we start over tonight.

KHP – Yeah, this is not going well at all. I despise this wood and I think the aspect ratio is wrong. I am going to restart on linoleum which is 12 by 18, a better aspect ratio than the wood. Straight up we start over tonight.

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kristen R: Training Week 14 – Tapering

  1. khpixler says:

    It is awesome that your easy runs are eight milers now. A lot has changed for you this year. Really it has gone back to normal. Let the count down begin.

  2. wwwmama says:

    Yay you! I went short today with 6 because my Achilles is still unhappy. I keep waiting for the tapering to make me feel rested and strong, but not there at all. I am at peace though; as KHP said, it’s pretty cool to think of 6 miles as a cop-out!

Leave a Reply

