KHP – Obsessing Over Hipstamatic

Playing with the camera phone is trouble.

Playing with the camera phone is trouble.

I have to admit as a photographer that has worked with every alternative film process and one that loves the darkroom including the stinky chemicals, I have had a serious problem with the Hipstamatic app and its counterparts. First of all, the files historically have been wretched. When you print them out they are blurry, pixelated and cruddy, they are really just meant for online viewing only. Secondly, it use to take a lot of knowledge to get this effect. The photographer needed to know the camera, lens, film and process combination to get this awesome final product. Thirdly, every Tom, Dick and Hairy is blindly running around with apps taking a thousand photos thinking they are or will be the next Minor White.

Well, I am here to tell, who cares!! It is freaking fun and no wonder half the world is ready to head to the MET for a solo art exhibition. This stuff is addictive. The more you do the better you get. So shoot away friends. The image quality is getting better and the effects are incredible. I miss the days in the darkroom and running to the lab for another experimental cross processing but this is instant gratification in your phone.
When Claire and KR were together this weekend we discussed the next step for Making it Daily. We all agreed we wanted to continue this blog in some fashion next year but we have not decided the exact form. I know that I am in, just for the sheer fact I love staying in touch with them. It has become such an integral part of my life, I am not ready to give it up. I think next year I would like to do a 365 photo blog that is connected with Making it Daily. I just think it would be great for me to focus on that medium. It maybe days like today where I just feel like doing something experimental and less technical to fill my daily quota. It is a good balance. I will continue with my other arts but it is time to focus on my area of expertise for a while. Oddly, I don’t shoot everyday now, as I feel like I am cheating. It comes really easily to me, second nature, almost like breathing. I am realizing now, that this is what it is supposed to feel like after a life time of study and dedication. It does not always need to be a struggle. I am hoping that this will be a theme for 2014. Wouldn’t that be fabulous after the mess of 2013! Here’s hoping!

LP got a new winter jacket just in time for winter.  She was running away with Maggie.

LP got a new winter jacket just in time for winter. She was running away with Maggie.

Oh the fun I have with the different lens and film combinations.
Oh the fun I have with the different lens and film combinations.

I love this tree, I photograph it multiple times a year.  It is our view from the back of our house.  Every season it looks beautiful.

I love this tree, I photograph it multiple times a year. It is our view from the back of our house. Every season it looks beautiful.

In the winter time two hawks use this tree to scope out dinner.  We love seeing our visitors.  I am hoping to get a shoot of the hawk to share.

In the winter time two hawks use this tree to scope out dinner. We love seeing our visitors. I am hoping to get a shoot of the hawk to share.

Maggie is hard to catch.  She is camera shy like many dogs and extremely fast.

Maggie is hard to catch. She is camera shy like many dogs and extremely fast.

Looking out over the field behind our house.

Looking out over the field behind our house.

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Kristen P., Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to KHP – Obsessing Over Hipstamatic

  1. watchdinorun says:

    Awesome photo! I have to download that, now….

    • khpixler says:

      You will love it. I still process my photos in Camera Raw so I can control contrast/color temp, burn and dodge or just mess around some more. It is so fun you will get addicted:))

  2. wwwmama says:

    I must have been sleeping when you guys talked about the blog for next year. LOL–I don’t remember that!

    • khpixler says:

      Oh no, you were not sleeping but maybe close to it. It was late in the evening and it was brief. It was not a real specific conversation but we did talk about the frequency of writing, KR talked about changing up her own approach. I thought you mentioned wanted to continue to stay in touch. We did not get into specifics. Maybe I was half asleep and not understanding the conversation. LOL:))

  3. wwwmama says:

    I definitely want to stay in touch! We’ll have to follow up with that convo soon. It’ll be fun to figure out next steps.

    • khpixler says:

      hehe, how my brain works:) Yes we will have to see how it all works out. I don’t think I can keep up with the blog entry every three days but I would be up for something less time demanding so we still have a forum to catch up. I created another blog page ScatteredandSplit when we began this. I was thinking about making that my 365 photo project but I will not write much there at all. It will just be a photo blog or a live portfolio. I am so glad we did this. It has really been an amazing project.

  4. wwwmama says:

    I’m with you. One possibility would be to open up the blog to some more people who are in the rotation, but I kind of like it with just the three of us too. What if we did a once a week post from each of us? That would be more manageable, I think. We could still use it as a way to set a goal and have some accountability with it in terms of keeping in touch and being productive.

    • khpixler says:

      I am in with you on the once a week. I like having it with just us three but more folks could work too. It would just be weird to start as we have created such a tight dynamic. My preference would be to keep it with just us but I would be fine if you two really liked the idea of opening it up. I just want to make sure we keep the ball rolling and have a forum to stay in touch.

Leave a Reply

