Kristen R: Vacation & running in the rain

I’m just getting back from a quick Thanksgiving trip to Charleston, South Carolina so all I’ve got left to give at the moment is my updated running log and a picture to prove that my vacation runs were anything but ideal.

This photo does not do the rain justice. The sky decided to dump on me halfway through this short run. I was soaked, but smiling.

This photo does not do the rain justice (although the giant puddle next to me definitely shows a little rain had fallen). The sky decided to dump on me halfway through this short run. I was soaked, but still smiling.

Actually, the first morning we were there was pretty nice. Charleston is in the south and it certainly wouldn’t be the south without some humidity, but the temps were fairly mild so I got in a nice 5k. The next day, well, I was not so lucky. It was pouring, but I wanted to get my daily run in early so I could enjoy the day without the run looming over my head. It was a rainy run, but at least it wasn’t cold.

The rain cleared up by the third day, but wouldn’t you know the temperature dropped 30 degrees? It went from 60 to 30 literally overnight, and so my last run in South Carolina was a cold one. That’s the thing about the south. If you don’t like the weather, just wait a minute. Luckily, I grabbed my gloves and warm hat as last minute necessities for the trip away.

My lesson for vacation runs: Be prepared.

Gotta run!
Kristen R.

November is going to end up being a shorter-mile month -- and I think that's a little of my problem for my half training. My longer mid-week runs really tapered off too early. Food for thought for next time...

November is going to end up being a shorter-mile month — and I think that’s a little of my problem for my half training. My longer mid-week runs really tapered off too early. Food for thought for next time…

KHP Art Below

KHP - Some pictures from the park with the cousins.  We are having a great time.

KHP – Some pictures from the park with the cousins. We are having a great time.

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kristen R: Vacation & running in the rain

  1. playfulpups says:

    Kudos for running on your vacation! I love Charleston- I used to work there. Beautiful area!!

  2. wwwmama says:

    Glad you had fun and runs, even if soggy. I think I see a Charleston food trip in our future.

  3. khpixler says:

    It sounds like a fun run and the picture is great. I hope the rest of your trip was fun.

Leave a Reply

