KHP – Exploration Photo Blog

IMG_2864

IMG_2849

IMG_2852

IMG_2854

IMG_2860

IMG_2865

IMG_2866

Today, I had planned a big family photo shoot for our christmas cards.  It turned out to be quite a trying day for the girls.  They were just hung over from all of the late nights, sweet treats,  frolicking with cousins, and doting from aunties and uncles.  I gave up on my idea early on in the day with  a strong agreement from Matt.  They just did not have the emotional capacity to sit next to each other without arguing much less for a studio shoot with light, camera and action.  Instead we headed up to the Round Barn to visit our favorite farm animals and pick up the last batch of apples of the season.  The girls had a great time as they were able to feed their buddies one last time before the winter.  The farm was giving away free animal treats so we stayed for a long time feeding and petting them.  I was happy as I walked away with 3 pecks of apples for next to nothing.  Our family eats tons of apples and  we are all happy to stock up for the next few weeks.  We will be purchasing grocery store apples until the barn opens again in late spring.  We had a blissful hour at the orchard before we headed back to the house with grumpy-pants one and two.  I was quite disappointed to wait,  we have collected all of the props and purchased outfits.  We will need to wait for another day this week when attitudes are better and little bodies and minds are less fatigued.

On another note, I was able to process some more of the photos from Thanksgiving day.  I was so glad I stopped to peak inside this building and poke around.  It was sad to see that someone maybe living inside the building and I was happy my husband was with me while I lurked around the corners of the building. This may seem like an odd thing to do on Thanksgiving weekend but it seemed fitting to me.  It made me realize how much we have to be thankful for, our roof over our heads, our warm beds and arms to curl up together, family to share the holidays, and food to enjoy with one another.  Even on the rough days I am thankful for every cell of their bodies and every twinkle in the souls of my two little girls.  I am thankful for my parents, my wonderful siblings, my tremendous little dog and my loving husband.  I am glad for the days to spend curled up on the couch looking at our christmas tree, even if my laptop was crowding out the kids.  It is unjust that someone should have to spend Thanksgiving in an unheated shamble without companionship or the comfort of  a warm embrace.

desolation-1web

desolation-2web

desolation-3web

desolation-4web

desolation-5web

desolation-6web

desolation-7web

desolation-8web

About khpixler

Freelance artist, photographer, illustrator, designer, athlete, wife and mom of two beautiful girls. Trying to make it daily. https://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Kristen P., Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to KHP – Exploration Photo Blog

Leave a Reply

