Kristen R: December Reflections No. 3 – The Voice Within

I was looking at some past posts and found this one, Little White Lies, about trying to silence that negative voice that sometimes creeps in during a run.

I still have not silenced this voice, but I do know that there will be bad days out there. And I also know there is no rhyme or reason as to why we have them, or at least, why I have them.

My consistency this year has helped, but I think I’ll battle this voice for as long as I continue to run.

One of the things I pointed out in that post was this: I let that little voice inside my head dictate too many decisions. More often than not, it’s just the build up of excuses: I’m not fast enough or strong enough; I’m too tired; it’s harder than what I’m ready to take on; I won’t like making a change; I don’t have time.

And that’s where I have made major strides. I have time — even when I’m too tired or feeling weak. I’ve made it through some really hard runs and races. I’ve seen the results; I’ve seen real change — both inside and out.

So while I know I’ll continue to fight off the negatives from this inner voice from time to time, I am not so hard on myself when it comes to having a bad day. I finally figured out that I’m not alone:

“Bad workouts and races — we all have them and we always will. Accept that the body has an ebb and flow that we don’t quite understand. Some days you just feel ‘off.’ As hard as it is to accept a bad workout or race when there are valid reasons, it’s doubly challenging when there appears to be no reason at all. I used to worry about this, but now I just shrug it off as the quirkiness of the body and mind. Don’t invest in it or over think it. Move on.” – Greg McMillan

Gotta run!
Kristen R .

My family visited this week, so I didn't get my planned runs in. Their visit was good timing, though, because I think I really needed the break. Back to the grind tomorrow: I've got 1,000 miles to get to!

My family visited this week, so I didn’t get my planned runs in. Their visit was good timing, though, because I think I really needed the break. Back to the grind tomorrow: I’ve got 1,000 miles to get to!

KHP Art Below

KHP - Matt and I ventured out in the first snow to drop off client files.  No my client did not ask us to make the trip out in horrid weather but Matt is always looking for an excuse to be out in the snow.  He grew up in Oregon what can I say.  I snapped a few pictures of my favorite shed in PA.

KHP – Matt and I ventured out in the first snow to drop off client files. No my client did not ask us to make the trip out in horrid weather but Matt is always looking for an excuse to be out in the snow. He grew up in Oregon what can I say. I snapped a few pictures of my favorite shed in PA.

About Kristen R.

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh. http://mamaontherunblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Kristen R., Running, Self-Care and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kristen R: December Reflections No. 3 – The Voice Within

  1. wwwmama says:

    It’s becoming easier for me to “move on” more quickly too, which is a good thing. I only ran once this past week, but it was a really busy week, and I got a lot of stuff done that needed doing. And I’m missing the running, so I will be back on that treadmill tonight!

  2. khpixler says:

    I agree! I think just getting it done and dealing with whether it is a good or bad workout after the fact. Sometimes my hardest days getting out the door end up being my best workouts. Not always but I am often happily surprised. I feel like I made that big jump this year too (in art and in my workouts).

Leave a Reply

